

Minutes Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance (LOSFA) Advisory Board April 6, 2023

The Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance (LOSFA) Advisory Board met on Thursday, April 6, 2023, at 10:50 a.m. in the Oliver Pollock Conference Room of the Galvez Building in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. Chair MaryAnn Coleman called the meeting to order and the roll was called.

LOSFA Advisory Board Members Present

Barrye Bailey Dr. Amy Cable* MaryAnn Coleman Mary Katherine Hooper** Kristi Lawson

Virtual Attendees

Andrew Granger LaVonya Malveaux

LOSFA Advisory Board Members Absent

Dr. Leroy Davis
Ethan Estis
Dr. Jim Henderson
Sharmain Lazard-Talbert
Amy Marix

Staff Members Present

Dr. Sujuan Boutté Rhonda Bridevaux Alice T. Brown Dr. Tireka Cobb Shayne Creppel Ebony Holmes Brett Hunt Britt Kelly Robyn Lively Jenny Moran Deborah Paul Timenee Thomas Terri Underwood

Guests Present







^{*}Joined during Program Updates

^{**}Proxy for Brooks Powell

Four members were present, which did not represent a quorum. In accordance with the Bylaws of the Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance (LOSFA) Advisory Board, Chair Coleman called the meeting into Executive Committee to act upon the agenda items. Chair Coleman temporarily appointed Ms. Bailey and Ms. Mary Katherine Hooper to the Executive Committee.

On motion of Ms. Bailey, seconded by Ms. Hooper the LOSFA Advisory Board approved the minutes from the March 2, 2023, meeting of the LOSFA Advisory Board.

Staff provided the Advisory Board members with updates on the following programs: Louisiana's Saving Programs, LOSFA College Access, Success and Communications, LOSFA Student Engagement, LOSFA GEAR UP/Field Outreach Services, GO Grant, John R. Justice Program, GO-Youth ChalleNGe Program, MJ Foster Promise Program, the Taylor Opportunity Program for Students (TOPS) and the Executive Director update.

Dr. Amy Cable arrived during Program Updates and a quorum was established.

Under New Business, it was proposed that the Advisory Board consider requests for exception to the TOPS regulatory provisions that require students to remain continuously enrolled and to earn the annual credit hours required during the academic year.

On motion of Ms. Lawson, seconded by Ms. Hooper, the LOSFA Advisory Board recommended that the Louisiana Board of Regents approve the requests for Macy (1005191), Camronn (953573), Natalie (977147), Myeisha (860670), Jaci (947371), Kayla (963434), Denim (1003400), Luke (864982), Joseph (912067), Alexxus (969013), Theron (1019229) and Connor (929770).

There being no further business, Dr. Cable made a motion to adjourn at 12:55 p.m., which was seconded by Ms. Hooper.





